Book Review – The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Title: The Last T17285330ime We Say Goodbye

Author: Cynthia Hand

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Published:  February 9th 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 390

My Rating: ★★★★

 

Synopsis from Goodreads

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand comes a gorgeous, heart-wrenching novel of love and loss, which ALABooklist called “both shatteringly painful and bright with life and hope” in a starred review.

Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away, and to forget about what happened that night. But as she starts putting her life, her family, and her friendships back together, Lex is haunted by a secret she hasn’t told anyone—a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

In the tradition of Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why, Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, and Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a thoughtful and deeply affecting novel that will change the way you look at life and death.

 

 Review (Non-Spoiler) :

To start off, this is quite a slow-paced book. I kind of expected i to be slow-paced due to the topic it focused on, death. The main character is a somehow geeky type who doesn’t feel much emotions and goes to a therapist on a regular basis. After her brother’s death, she struggles to get back into the real world and redeem the life she had back then. Although it is slow-paced, I learned to be patient with this book and in the end, I loved it. It didn’t involve much drama but I loved how the main character would tell us bits of her past and her dreams.

 

Review (Contains Spoilers):

 

Oh my goodness gracious, I love the characters and the ending so much!

The beginning was quite depressing because she started off with her therapist, Dave. However, I did love Dave’s idea of letting Lex write all her thoughts into a journal, and because of that,we would get to see what Lex wrote in her journal. (reminded me of The Perks of Being a Wallflower) Dave also told us that Lex should try writing to an audience. Though the audience wont be reading her journal, Dave feels that it’s good to think that maybe someday they would read it. So, we get some strike-through pages from Lex’s journal.

I was quite creeped out when Lex starts seeing ghost, but I loved the part where she was in school and they had to search a word to find out it’s origin and synonyms. (the little debate part between Lex and the Teacher though, now that was something I really enjoyed.)

Anyways, I felt sorry for our main character, Lex because her mom thinks that her life is ending and not worth it, while her father is off with another woman and meets Lex for dinner once a week. (Though she starts to accept these things by trying to talk her mom out of being depressed-ish and starts making peace with her father.)  Her friends however have cool names! They are also quite geeky, and then there’s Steven. I have to say, Steven is a real sweetheart! Which is why my heart kind of broke when Lex told us her history with Steven and how they broke up. Along the way we meet Tyler’s ex girlfriend, Ashley and one of the three amigos, Damian.

First of all, the letter Tyler wrote for Ashley before he killed himself just made me feel so much! I wanted to put the book down and sob but I couldn’t, I had to know what Lex would do and how would she react.

Second of all, DAMIAN. So Lex tells us that every Valentine’s Day she gets this paper rose with beautiful poem lines on them. She thinks their from Steven but then Damian confesses that he’s the one who gave those paper roses and that he’s in love with Lex. However, Lex doesn’t feel the same way and tries to explain to Damian why she’s suddenly so close and interested (in a friendly matter). Damian ends up broken-hearted and posts this well-written poem on his blog.

She makes the stars go out.

She makes the rain.

I give her my heart

as a rose made of paper

but she lets it fall

on the dirty floor.

She gives me a cup

full of pity and pain

to drown myself in.

the poem made Lex think that Damian’s about to do suicide. Which is why she rushed to his house just to find out that Damian just didn’t want to go to school because of embarrassment.

Afterwards, Lex gets the inspiration to write in her journal. She talks about Steven and what they’ve been through. After, she gives her journal to Steven, explained what Dave said about the journal and tells him to read it.

In the end, Lex has finally changed and accepted everything she’s been going through. She has been accepted to MIT and finally opened up to her friends. AND OMG CAN WE TALK ABOUT HOW STEVEN ARRIVED AT LEX’S HOUSE?? He read the journal so quickly and it was just so *fangirls* correct me if I’m wrong but I think he was crying because of what he read and that made me fall in love with Steven!

To wrap it all up, I enjoyed this book a lot! I loved the ending but not the beginning. Also, I noticed that this book has so many good quotes and sayings. It kind of inspired me to also write a journal (but then I’m afraid my mom would read it *laughs nervously*)

 

I guess that’s all folks 🙂 I’ll be sure to be back with another book review! xxUntitled

 

Leave a Reply

